McCartney receives ASTM International President’s Leadership Award

April 8, 2013

John S. McCartney, Ph.D., assistant professor of geotechnical engineering and geomechanics, is a recipient of the 2013 President’s Leadership Award from ASTM International.

The President’s Leadership Award recognizes individuals early in their ASTM career who have significantly advanced the Society’s mission through extraordinary accomplishment, example and vision, and is presented to two ASTM members annually.

McCartney, who joined ASTM International in 2007, is a member of Committees D18 on Soil and Rock and D35 on Geosynthetics. He serves as vice chairman of Subcommittee D18.04 on Hydrologic Properties and Hydraulic Barriers and is chairman of D18.09 on Cyclic and Dynamic Properties of Soils. In 2011, McCartney received the D18 Richard S. Ladd Standards Development Award for his contributions to ASTM D7664, Standard Test Methods for Measurement of Hydraulic Conductivity of Unsaturated Soils, and was the guest editor for a two-volume special issue on unsaturated soil mechanics for the ASTM Geotechnical Testing Journal.

McCartney, whose research interests include unsaturated soil mechanics, geosynthetics and foundation engineering, joined the faculty at CU-Boulder in 2008. Prior to that he was an assistant professor at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville. A graduate of CU-Boulder where he received a B.S. and M.S. in civil engineering, McCartney earned his Ph.D. in civil engineering from the University of Texas at Austin.

In addition to ASTM International, McCartney is a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, the Association of Drilled Shaft Contractors, the Deep Foundations Institute, the International Geosynthetics Society and the Transportation Research Board. He has received several other industry awards, including the Arthur Casagrande Professional Development Award and J. James R. Croes Medal, both from ASCE; the Deep Foundations Institute Young Professor Award; and the Shamsher Prakash Foundation Prize for Excellence in Teaching of Geotechnical Engineering.

ASTM International President James A. Thomas will present McCartney with his award at the ASTM June Committee Week in Indianapolis, Ind., during the Committee D18 standards development meetings.